I felt this was an appropriate first category to my blog. I was at the gym today, and various cheesy dance tunes kept popping up on my ipod. Now, I only have a shuffle, so I don't really have any control over what goes on there. Ok that's not completely true. I soberly and intentionally put Cascada with "Everytime we touch" on there. But oh, do I regret it today. Must remember to remove.
The reason my post is called party tunes, is because the songs you listen to when you are under the influence, usually are quite different to the ones you would listen to while, say, cleaning your room. This is at least the case with me. The music I play when I'm drinking, is so horrifyingly bad that most of you would reconsider all previous perceptions you had of me. I'm talking Bonnie Tyler ("Bitter Blue"), Backstreet Boys (all of it), Fresh Prince and Jazzy Jeff, Twenty 4 Seven and, worst of all, Lady Gaga. These songs are so BAD, but oh, sooo GOOD when you want to get your drink on. I'm not gonna play Hendrix or Doors or Chili peppers at a party, is creates a completely different mood (the two first ones, brilliant stoner mood)
I guess I am writing this to make myself feel better - because on some level, I do feel guilt when singing along to Beyoncé and Bon Jovi when I'm drunk. Music is my religion, and I shouldn't let these half-arsed, no-talent-whatsoever, half-naked, slightly retarded people contaminate my system. Byt - when you're drunk, it's ok. It is actually ok. Because, if nothing else, you are hopefully not alone at this party, and you will have to compromize. And odds are two or more of your friends are gonna beg for Britney's "Womanizer" - and you don't wanna be a party pooper.
Now for those of you who listen to this music while sober - I have nothing to say to you.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

No comments:
Post a Comment